Who are DMK, AIADMK candidates in Tiruvarur by-election?

Curtains are set to go up as far as candidates of the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and the main opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam for the Tiruvarur by-election is concerned. For, both the big parties are expected to name their contestants later today. Though DMK leaders wanted their president Stalin to contest from Tiruvarur which fell vacant due to the death of party supremo and former Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, Stalin was apparently not okay with the idea.

Some enthusiasts filed applications on behalf of Stalin's son and actor-producer Udhayanidhi Stalin. However, it is said he too would not be nominated. Sources indicate that Tiruvarur strongman Kalaivanan might by the DMK's candidate in the by-election. Sources in the AIADMK camp say a prominent force would be fielded and a decision in this regard would be taken today by chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam, the joint coordinator and the coordinator of the party, respectively.

On Thursday, the Madras High Court refused to stay the January 28 Tiruvarur by-election. Following this, hurdles have been cleared for the by-poll, which is expected to see a tough contest between the AIADMK, the DMK and the AMMK. The filing of nominations will begin in Tiruvarur on January 3 and the last date to submit the papers will be January 10. Scrutiny will be done on January 11 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is January 14. Votes polled on January 28 will be counted on January 31.