Vellore district trifurcated : CM

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami today announced trifurcating the large Vellore district into three districts. In his Independence Day address, the Chief Minister said, dividing Vellore district was following consideration of representations from Ministers, MLAs and the general public. Two new districts with Ranipet and Tirupattur as headquarters respectively will be carved out from Vellore and K V Kuppam in Vellore district will be upgraded into a new taluk, he said.

Vellore will continue to function as a separate district. Palaniswami had recently announced new districts of Chengelpet and Tenkasi and with the two new districts, Tamilnadu is set to have a total of 37 districts. Quoting late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, he expressed his government's commitment to the two-language formula of Tamil and English. He also announced hike in the pension of freedom fighters and their families.