Vaiko fields Ganesamurthy as candidate for Erode

A day after partners in the DMK-led alliance arrived at a final agreement on constituencies, Vaiko-led MDMK today announced the candidature of former MP A Ganesamurthi from the Erode constituency for the April 18 Lok Sabha elections. In a statement, Vaiko said, "Ganesamurthi is contesting from Erode as MDMK candidate, on behalf of the DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance."

Ganesamurthi is a two-time MP, who had represented Palani in the 12th Lok Sabha (1998) and Erode during the 2009-14 period. MDMK has been allotted the Erode constituency, even as DMK President M K Stalin has assured one Rajya Sabha seat to his party's ally at the appropriate time. Vaiko is expected to be nominated to Rajya Sabha on that seat. On Friday, soon after the names of constituencies to be contested by his party and its alliance partners were announced by Stalin, parties such as CPI, CPI(M) and IUML announced the names of their candidates.

The CPI(M) has fielded former Lok Sabha MP P R Natarajan in Coimbatore consituency, which he represented in the 15th Lok Sabha, while Sahitya Academy Award winner and Tamil writer S Venkatesan would contest in the Madurai constituency. CPI has named former MP Selvarasu as its Nagapattinam candidate and veteran leader K Subbarayan as its Tirupur contestant. IUML, which has been given the Ramanathapuram seat, announced K Nawaz Ghani as its candidate.