TTV Dhinakaran releases AMMK's manifesto, final candidates list

Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) founder TTV Dhinakaran today announced his party's second and final list of 14 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in Tamilnadu. He also released the manifesto of the AMMK. While Dhinakaran was expected to contest against Deputy Chief Minister and AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam’s son O P Ravindranath in Theni, he has instead fielded his close aide Thanga Tamilselvan in the constituency.

N G Parthiban and P Palaniappan are the other disqualified MLAs who have been nominated by Dhinakaran. They will contest from Arakkonam and Dharmapuri seats respectively. Meanwhile, Dhinakaran on Thursday categorically refuted Madurai Aadheenam (Mutt) head Arunagiri Nathar's statement that talks being held for its merger with the ruling AIADMK. "There is no truth in that. There is no need for that," he said in a tweet. Dhinakaran, who was sidelined and subsequently expelled from the AIADMK, termed Nathar's statement about the merger talks as baseless.Dhinakaran is no stranger in Tamil Nadu’s political landscape, as he had earlier represented the state as a Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MP while being associated with the AIADMK.

He is also the nephew of  V K Sasikala, who was the aide and confidant of former chief minister Jayalalithaa. After being expelled from the AIADMK, post the demise of Jayalalithaa and the jailing of his aunt V K Sasikala, he floated his outfit the AMMK and vowed to fight against the AIADMK.