TN Congress MLA resigns

Congress MLA from Nanguneri, H. Vasanthakumar called on Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P. Dhanapal on Wednesday and submitted his resignation, following his recent election to the Lok Sabha from Kanniyakumari constituency. Vasanthakumar was elected from the Nanguneri Assembly constituency in 2016 but decided to contest the Lok Sabha elections this year from Kanyakumari.

The businessman-politician won by a massive margin of 2.59 lakh votes in the general elections from Kanyakumari, beating incumbent MP and Central Minister Pon Radhakrishnan, representing the BJP. Following his resignation, the number of Congress members in the Tamil Nadu Assembly comes down to seven. The state will see a by-election in Nanguneri constituency.