Sidhu loses in Punjab

The counting of votes for the recently held 117-seat Punjab election 2022 began at 8 am today (March 10, 2022). Punjab went for polling on February 20, 2022. According to the state's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Punjab, which has over 2.14 crore eligible voters, recorded 71.95 per cent polling, down from 77 per cent recorded in 2017.

Punjab's former Chief Minister Amarinder Singh lost his constituency, Patiala Urban, to an AAP candidate. Congress leader and Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi also lost both his seats. Congress candidate and Bollywood actor Sood also lost from the Moga assembly seat in Punjab.

Shiromani Akali Dal's Bikram Singh Majithia loses from Amritsar East by a margin of 14,408 votes. Shiromani Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal loses election against AAP’s Gurmeet Singh Khudian in the Lambi seat by a margin of over 11,000 votes. On the other hand, AAP's CM candidate Bhagwani Mann has scored the Dhuri seat he was contesting from.