Rajapaksa to be sworn-in as PM of Lanka

Mahinda Rajapaksa will be sworn in as new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka on Thursday.

The way for his accession was paved after Prime Minister Ranil Wickremsinghe announced to resign from his post to pave way for a caretaker government following the last Saturday's presidential election that saw opposition candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa soundly beating his party nominee Sajith Premadasa. The swearing-in will take place in the afternoon after Mr Wickremsinghe formally tenders his resignation.

Rajapaksa had served as two-term President during 2005 to 2015 and is the elder brother of current President Gotabaya Rajapksa.