How DMK won big is local body polls?

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) recaptured the Chennai corporation after a decade as the ruling party swept the urban local body elections, the results of which were announced on Tuesday. While DMK won 153 seats, AIADMK, which swept the Chennai Corporation election by winning 168 seats in 2011, has secured only 15 seats. In the 2011 election, DMK won only 24 seats.

Other parties, which contested in alliance with DMK, won 25 seats. While Congress won in 13 wards, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) and CPI (M) won four wards each and Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam won two wards. CPI and IUML won one seat each. In total, the DMK alliance has won 178 seats out of 200 wards.

Apart from these parties, BJP and AMMK, who contested alone secured one ward each. Five independent candidates also won. DMK contested in 167 wards while its ally Congress contested in 16 wards. VCK contested in six wards while CPM contested in five wards. CPI, MDMK contested in three wards each. On the other hand, AIADMK contested in 198 wards.

The result revealed that 14 out of 15 wards won by AIADMK are in extended zones such Tiruvottiyur, Manali, Madhavaram, Ambattur, Valasaravakkam, Alandur, Perungudi, and Sholinganallur. The party won one ward in the Adyar zone, which is a core city zone. Five wards that are won by independent candidates are also in extended zones.