Final list: 137 contest in 4 seats by-poll in TN

With 15 candidates withdrawing their nominations for the May 19 Assembly bypolls for four constituencies, a total of 137 candidates are in the final list in Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC), Sulur and Tirupparankundram constituencies. Speaking to reporters, Director General of Police (Elections) Ashutosh Shukla said that the number of surveillance team and flying squads were increased to prevent violation of Model Code of Conduct (MCC), specially distribution of money.

"Any complaints regarding distribution of money and MCC violations can be reported to the control room at 1950," he added. He also stated the police will check allegations that stickers were pasted at some houses in the constituency as identification for disbursement of cash in lieu of votes.