Filling of nomination ends in 4 Assembly seats, intense campaign to commence

With filing of nomination for the May 19 bypolls to four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu ending on Monday, intense campaigning by top leaders will commence from tomorrow. On the last day, candidates of the ruling AIADMK and other parties filed their papers. The bypolls would be for Aravakurichi, Ottapdiram, Tiruparankundram and Sulur Assembly seats.

Out of these four assembly seats, two fell vacant following the death of sitting MLAs A Kanagaraj of Sulur constituency which comes under Coimbatore district and A K Bose of Tirupparankundram constituency which comes under Madurai district.

The other two constituencies were declared vacant after the disqualification of AIADMK legislators Senthil Balaji (Aravakkurichi) and R Sundararaj (Ottapidaram). The Election Commission of India had recently announced bypolls to the said four Assembly seats, covering all 22 vacant segments.