Kanimozhi to contest from Tuticorin, DMK list contains mix of old, new faces It was a mix of old prominent names and new young faces as the Opposition DMK, heading the Secular Progressive Alliance for the April 18 Lok Sabha polls, released the candidates list on Sunday. The DMK, which would be contesting in 20 of the 39 seats in the polls, has nominated late leader M Karunandihi's daughter and Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi for the Tuticorin seat.

Kanimzohi in fact would be testing her fortunes in the Lok Sabha elections for the first time, though she had represented Parliament as a Rajya Sabha member. Among the old faces nominated were party heavyweights and former Union Ministers Dayanidhi Maran (Central Chennai), S Jegathratchgan (Arakkonam), T R Baalu (Sriperumbudur), A Raja (Nilgiris-R) and S S Palanimanickam (Thanjavur). Releasing the list, DMK President M K Stalin said the candidates were selected after interviewing them and anlaysing their victory prospects in the elections. 

There were new faces in the list that included sons and sibling of party heavyweights. Writer Tamizhachi Thangapandian, sister of former Minister Thangam Thennarasu was fielded from South Chennai, while DMK veteran and former Minister Arcot N Veerasamy’s son Dr Kalanithi was chosen for the North Chennai seat and DMK Treasurer Duraimurugan's son Kadir Anand would contest from Vellore Parliamentary seat. DMK Villuppuram strongman and former Minister K Ponmudy's son Dr D Gowtham Sigamani was chosen for the Kallakurichi seat.

The list included G Selvam from Kancheepuram (R), C N Annadurai (Tiruvannamalai), Dr S Senthil Kumar (Dharmapuri), S R Parthiban (Salem), K Shanmugasundaram (Pollachi), P Velusamy (Dindigul), TRVS Sri Ramesh (Cuddalore), S Ramalingam (Mayiladuthurai), Dhanush M Kumar (Tenkasri-R) and S Gnanthiraviam (Tirunelveli).