DMK announces candidate for Vikkravandi

N Pughazhendi has been announced as DMK's candidate for Vikkravandi by-election.By-polls were announced to Vikkravandi and Nanguneri recently. DMK's K Rathamani, who represented Vikravani died and Congress party's H Vasantha Kumar who was the Nanguneri MLA, resigned from his post in May following his election to the Lok Sabha from Kanyakumari constituency.

DMK contests from Vikkravandi while it allotted Nanguneri to Congress itself. Filing of nominations began yesterday. Last date to file papers is 30 September. Scrutiny will take place on 1 October and 3 October is the last day to withdraw the nominations. Election will be held 21 October.