Congress releases candidates list; seats given to EVKS Elangovan, Thirunavukkarasar, Vasanthakumar

At last, after much delay when compared to other parties in Tamil Nadu, the Congress has released its list of candidates for eight constituencies out of the 10 it received in the DMK alliance. It named K Jayakumar from Tiruvallur, Chellakumar from Krishnagiri, M K Vishnu Prasad from Arani, Jothi Mani from Karur, S Thirunavukkarasar from Tiruchirappalli, EVKS Elangovan from Theni, Manickam Tagore from Virudhunagar and H Vasanthakumar from Kanyakumari.

The Congress party on Friday came out with its seventh list of 35 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The list had Uttar Pradesh state unit chief Raj Babbar's name from Fatehpur Sikri instead of the earlier announced Moradabad. Now, Imran Pratapgarhiya has been nominated fom Moradabad. The Congress was the only constituent of the Secular Progressive Alliance led by the DMK which had not released its candidates’ till Friday night.

The delay had caused embarrassment for the DMK since its president M K Stalin has already hit the campaign trail from the delta districts canvassing for candidates of his party and those of the allies. Recently, when asked if she was planning to contest the polls,  Congress National spokesperson Khushbu Sundar said it would be the decision taken by party president Rahul Gandhi.