Cauvery delta region will be declared Protected Agri Zone : Palaniswami

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami today announced that the Cauvery delta region would be declared asa 'Protected Agricultural Zone' to prevent the Centre's move to setup hydrocarbon projects and a special legislation, after consultinglegal experts, would be enacted in the the ensuing Budget sessionof the Assembly commencing on February 14.

Speaking after layingthe foundation stone for the Advanced Institutefor Integrated Research on Livestock and Animal Sciences (AIIRLIVAS)here, he said the cauvery delta region, comprising the districts of Thanjavur, Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam, pudukkottai, Karur, Ariyalur and Trichy will be designated a ‘Protected Agricultural Zone’.

Palaniswami's announcement comes in the backdrop of his letter toPrime Minister Narendra Modi, opposing the hydrocarbon projects in therice bowl of the state. The delta region has witnessed protests by farmers and oppositionparties over various projects, including hydrocarbon extractionand oil exploration.