By-poll in 4 Assembly seats: Stalin holds meet with top leaders

With the by-election to four Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu scheduled to happen on May 19, DMK president M K Stalin today chaired a meeting with top leaders of the party. DMK treasurer Durai Murugan, Kanimozhi, R S Bharathi and I Periyasamy among others took part in the consultative meeting at the party headquarters Anna Arivalayam in Chennai.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam recently announced candidates for by-elections in four Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, slated to be held 19 May. In a statement, Stalin said while former Minister Pongalur Palaniswami will contest from Sulur, another former Minister Senthil Balaji will be the DMK's candidate in Aravakurichi. Saravanan and M C Shanmugaiah will be the DMK's candidates in Thiruparakkundram and Ottapidaram, respectively.