BJP ahead in Maharashtra, tough fight in Haryana

The BJP established a substantial lead as the counting of votes for Assembly elections progressed in Maharashtra. In Haryana, its neck and neck race between BJP and the Congress.

In Maharashtra, the BJP and  its ally Shiv Sena was ahead at 154 seats in the 288-member Assembly. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Congress together was ahead together in 96. 

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena and the Opposition Congress-Nationalist Congress Party are the main parties in the fray, besides Raj Thackeray's Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, Prakash Ambedkar's Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi, the Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen and Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party.

In Haryana, where 90 Assembly seats are at stake, the BJP was leading in 38 constituencies, the Congress in 32 seats. However the numbers are subjected to chane as early trends suggests here.