At last, TN gets Lokayukta

Retired Judge P Devadass has been appointed as the Anti-corruption Ombudsman in the Tamilnadu Lokayukta. Retired District Judges K Jayabalan and R Krishnamoorthy will be judicial members of the Lokayukta while retired IAS officer M Rajaram and senior advocate K Arumugam will be non-judicial members.

The notification was issued following the recommendations made by a search committee. "The chairperson and the members shall hold office for five years from the day they enter office or the date on which they attain the age of 70 years, whichever is earlier," stated the notification. In December last year the State government constituted a search committee for submitting names for the posts of the chairperson and members of the Lokayukta.