Another DMK MLA dies today

Kathavarayan had won from the Gudiyatham constituency in Vellore district in the 2019 bye-elections defeating AIADMK candidate R Moorthy. The bye-election was held after 18 AIADMK MLAs were disqualified by assembly speaker P Dhanapal.

Kathavarayan secured 52% of the votes polled in the byepolls while Moorthy got 38%.With the death of two of its MLAs, the DMK’s strength in the state assembly has come down to 98.