AIADMK seals alliance with Vasan's TMC, ruling party to contest from 20 seats

The he AIADMK on Wednesday clinched an alliance with Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) led by former Union Minister GK Vasan for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. According to the seat sharing agreement, one seat has been allotted to TMC. It's a 20-20 split for the AIADMK led alliance that consists of the BJP, PMK, DMDK, TMC, Puthiya Tamizhagam and Puthiya Neethi Katchi. The AIADMK will contest from 20 seats.

The announcement on the alliance between AIADMK and TMC was made by AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam in the presence of Chief Minister and party's joint coordinator Edappadi Palaniswami and Vasan. Panneerselvam told the media, "AIADMK and TMC have formed an alliance to fight the Lok Sabha polls. According to the agreement that was reached today, TMC has been allocated one seat. The party will also extend support to AIADMK in the bypolls to be held in 21 assembly constituencies."

The AIADMK had already sealed the seat sharing pacts with PMK, BJP and DMDK allotting seven, five and four seats respectively. The AIADMK also allotted one seat each to NJP and the Puthiya Tamizhagam. The TMC which became the eighth partner in the alliance led by the AIADMK and also comprising the BJP and PMK among others will support the ruling party in the bypolls to 18 assembly constituencies on April 18.