AIADMK names candidates for RS polls

AIADMK today announced candidates for two Rajya Sabha seats that goes for polling 18 July As per pre-poll aggreement they have given one seat to PMK, who will name their candidate later.An AIADMK press release here said, 'Former Minister Mohammad John and party secretary Chandrasekaran will be AIADMK candidates. 'Nominations are to be filed by July 8.

While nominations will be scrutinised on July 9, the last date for withdrawal of nominations is July 11. Polls will be held on Thursday, July 18, between 9 am and 4 pm. Counting will take place on the same day at 5 pm. At present, the strength of the Tamil Nadu Assembly— which forms the electorate for the indirect Rajya Sabha polls— is 232.

The ruling AIADMK has 123 MLAs while the DMK and its allies have 108 MLAs in the House. Given the numbers, it is expected that the DMK will send upto three members to the Upper House.