AIADMK leads in Nanguneri, Vikravandi

AIADMK candidates managed substantial leads in by-elections to two costituencies Vikravandi and Nanguneri. Counting began this morning amidst tight security.

At Nanguneri, AIADMK is leading by over 3000 seats ahead of Congress candidate, while in Vikravandi, the AIADMK candidate is ahead by 15000 votes in the counting so far.
The entire counting would be over by noon and results will be declared offically. AIADMK’s M R Muthamizhselvan and Reddiyarpatti V Narayanan are in the fray in Vikravandi and Nanguneri segments respectively.

DMK’s N Pugazhendhi is contesting from Vikravandi constituency and its ally Congress party’s nominee ”Ruby” Manoharan is testing his luck from Nanguneri. All the 574 polling stations in Vikravandi (275) and Nanguneri (299) were covered by live web streaming. In Vikravandi, 18 polling stations were ”critical”, and 32 ”vulnerable”.

As far as Nanguneri is concerned, there were no critical polling booths and but 110 stations were declared vulnerable. While Vikravandi has an electorate of 2.57 lakh voters, Nanguneri has 2.23 lakh voters. Over 3,000 personnel were on duty on the polling day.