AIADMK inks pact with one more partner, DMK signs multiple deals

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on Monday allocated one seat to educationist A C Shanmugam's New Justice Party. It is learnt Shanmugam has agreed to contest under the two leaves symbol. With this, AIADMK now has 25 seats to itself. It has allocated 7 to PMK, 5 to BJP, 1 to NR Congress in Puducherry and 1 to Puthiya Tamilagam. If DMDK is roped in, AIADMK will have to part with 4-5 more seats.

Meanwhile, the DMK, which close doors to the DMDK, on Monday went ahead signing deals with its alliance partners. DMK has decided to allocate 2 seats each to VCK and CPI. The poll pacts were signed on Monday. The Indhiya Jananayaka Katchi (IJK) has been given one seat, though it will have to contest under the ‘rising sun’ symbol.

Speaking to reporters, VCK president Thol Thirumavalavan said, "We shall decide later on which symbol we will contest... There is still a difference of opinion on this." CPM State secretary K Balakrishnan said, “DMK has stated a number. We will respond after consulting our party functionaries. The poll pact will be finalised at the earliest." The DMK is expected to sign its poll pact with Vaiko's MDMK today.