AIADMK, DMK, AMMK gear up for big fight in 4 Assembly seats

Days after the main opposition DMK and TTV Dhinakaran's AMMK announced their candidates for the by-elections to be held for four Assembly seats on May 19, the ruling AIADMK on Tuesday named its contestants. VP Kandasamy, the President of Coimbatore Rural district Puratchi Thalaivi Amma Peravai will be the candidate in Sulur while Karur District Youth Wing head VV Senthil Nathan will face the bye-polls from Aravakurichi.

Avaniapuram area secretary S Muniyandi will contest in the Tirupparankundram Assembly seat and P Mohan, Joint Secretary of Thoothukudi North district AIADMK is the candidate for the Ottapidaram reserved constituency. There were 22 assembly seats that were vacant and by-elections for 18 were held on April 18. While the four seats will go to polls on May 19, counting of votes in all 22 will be taken up on May 23.