AIADMK changes its candidate

The ruling AIADMK today replaed its candidate for Periyakulam, Murugan, with M Mayilvel. It is one of the 18 constituencies going to polls in the by-elections to the Assembly on 18 April. According to a press release from the AIADMK, Mayilvel has been selected as the official candidate for the Assembly constituency by the working committee of the party, in place of the candidate already announced.

While AIADMK candidates contesting in the Lok Sabha elections started filing their nominations today, Chief Minister and party's joint coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswami campaigned for DMDK's L K Sudheesh in Kallakurichi. "Only under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the country will be safe. Only if the country is safe, people can live peacefully. Modi should be elected again to ensure that another incident like Pulwama in which 40 army men were killed does not take place," EPS said.

He added: "AIADMK forged an alliance with BJP for the wellness of the country and the people. This is not just a normal election, but a battle between dharmam and adharmam." Earlier, he said only a stable government under a good leader can provide good governance and ensure security and peace for the 130 crore people. Stating that it is the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra
Modi who fit the bill, Palaniswami, while speaking at a election campaign meeting in Salem, said the AIADMK and its allies in unison, pointed to Narendra Modi as the next Prime Minister.