AIADMK announces elections for top leadership on 7 December

The main opposition AIADMK today announced that elections for the top posts of coordinator and joint coordinator will be held on 7 December and the results will be announced after counting the next day.

Former Chief Ministers O Panneerselvam and Edappadi K Palaniswami are holding the respective posts. As per the party bye-laws, organisational elections have to be held every five years and in line with this, elections to the top two posts has been announced, a release from AIADMK headquarters said.

Filing of nominations will commence tomorrow and continue till 3 pm on 4 December. The scrutiny will take place the next day and the last date for withdrawals is 6 December. Elections will be held on 7 December and counting of votes will take place the next day.